Thanks to lunchroom workers

ECHS lunchroom crew, from left, Sondra Fails, Lisa Jones, Cindy Young (manager), Geneva Chavers, Rita Jones
At ECHS, from left, Greg Brock, Sherry Digmon, Loumeek White, Coleman Wallace, Kike Pettaway, Terries Lett.

October 10 to 14 was National School Lunch Week. Escambia County Board of Education members were invited to lunch at Escambia County High School in Atmore or W.S. Neal High School in Brewton, Wednesday, October 12.
BOE members attending in Atmore were Coleman Wallace, Loumeek White and myself.
We were joined by Principal Kike Pettaway, Assistant Principal Greg Brock and Assistant Principal Terries Lett. We received a warm welcome from Manager Cindy Young, who along with her staff was busy as they could be.
Lunch is a bit different than when I was in school many years ago. We would never have dreamed of having gumbo which was the entrée that particular day. And it wasn’t prepared just for “company.” That’s what students had too.
When we think of a school day, we may think of only administrators and teachers, but a lot of other folks are involved in making a school day successful. I count the lunchroom staffs among those folks.
Here’s a shout out to Child Nutrition Program Director Susanne Boutwell, SNS, and Sheila Ashcraft, CNP secretary. And here’s a salute to the “lunchroom ladies (and guys)” in the county public school system.
Escambia County High School: Cindy Young (manager), Rita Jones, Sondra Fails, Geneva Chavers, Lisa Jones.
Escambia County Middle School: Rebecca Boutwell (manager), Linda Thomas, Sherrie Johnson, Cheryl Shoemake, Victoria Shipp, Deontaine Baine, Kelly Moulton.
Rachel Patterson Elementary and A.C. Moore: Brenda Watkins (manager), Veronica Hacker, Melanie Renfroe, Laila Warren, Blake Shipp, Cherish Watson, Roxanne Beyette.
Huxford Elementary School: Susan Johnson (manager), Michelle Tolbert, Kim Ward.
Flomaton Elementary and High School:
Laura Bailey (manager), Arlene Hoomes, Chelsea Lowell, Carol Dunn, Faith Oglesbee, Ashley Riley, Devony Gresham, Tiffany Rydzowski.
Pollard McCall Junior High School: Jennifer Parker (manager), Alyssa Williams.
W.S. Neal High School: Mary Bradley (manager), Tonya Howard, Vanessa Mealer, Gladys Walker.
W.S. Neal Elementary School: Janice Salter (manager), Teresa Fuqua, Mary Sheffield, Florance Madden, Donna Avery, Brigitte Hoomes.
W.S. Neal Middle School: Debra Burnham (manager), Karen Capps, Pam Hart, Andrea Bailey, Minnie Hassell.