Headlines News

Projects keep education officials hopping


News Staff Writer

Superintendent of Education Dr. Michele Collier gave a brief overview of the various ongoing projects and some new programs that are being implemented at public schools across the county.

The list, which Collier said has kept officials hopping throughout the Spring, includes several achievements at Atmore-area schools, including A.C. Moore School, which hosted the April 18 Escambia County Board of Education meeting.

The host school was included in the advancements, having just put its new playground into use. The $24,000 playground was financed by a grant, and Collier announced that A.C. Moore has also been awarded a $15,000 grant to help with the transition of the preK-4 students to kindergarten.

She also praised technological advancements at Escambia County Middle School (ECMS), saying the school is “pushing the envelope,” as far as technology in the classroom and made two announcements regarding Escambia County High School (ECHS).

“Escambia County High is working on establishing a 9th grade academy, and a new partnership with Atmore Police Department has provided two fulltime officers — Jocelyn Hill and Gordon Brooks – as resource officers at ECHS,” she said, also noting that the concrete work has been completed on the school’s new athletic fieldhouse.

“That’s why we call this March and April Madness,” laughed Collier. “It’s like a full moon every day.”

BOE members approved several items during the meeting, including the following:

*An overnight trip (July 15-18) for ECMS cheerleaders to attend cheer camp at Troy University.

*Out-of-state trips for gifted education students to attend Atlanta Aquarium and World of Coca Cola. Gifted students in grades 5 and 6 will attend on May 8, and those in grades 7 and 8 will attend on May 9.

*An overnight trip for W.S. Neal High’s track and field team to attend the AHSAA State Outdoor Track & Field Meet, May 2-4, in Cullman.

*The purchase from CDW-G for Microsoft Office Professional Plus license and software assurance. The $12,935.28 cost will be paid from Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) funds.

*Entered into an easement with Alabama Power for power lines on BOE-owned property adjacent to W.S. Neal High.

*A dual enrollment for dual credit agreement with Reid State Technical College.

*Reimbursement of $3,400 to Flomaton High School which lost their charter bus fees when a recent event had to be canceled due to inclement weather.   

The next meeting was set for Thursday, May 9, at Escambia County High School. The Board will tour the new field house at 3:15 with the Board meeting beginning at 4 p.m.


Personnel recommendations by Dr. Collier were approved by the Board.

The following abbreviations are used:

Escambia County Middle School – ECMS

Escambia County High School – ECHS

Flomaton High School – FHS

Pollard McCall Junior High School – PMJHS

W.S. Neal Elementary School – WSNES

W.S. Neal Middle School – WSNMS

W.S. Neal High School – WSNHS

Brewton Bus Shop – BBS


1. Ronald Keith Nall, PE teacher, PMJHS, effective June 1, 2024

2. Monica Blackmon, teacher, WSNMS, effective June 1, 2024

3. John White, teacher, WSNMS, effective June 1, 2024

4. Suzanne Helton, JAG specialist, WSNHS, effective June 7, 2024

5. Susan Hardyman, teacher, WSNHS, effective June 1, 2024

6. Kathleen Meadows, bus driver, BBS, effective June 1, 2024


1. Earlean Simon, special education teacher, ECMS, effective May 24, 2024

2. Tina Hunt, math coach, ECMS, effective May 24, 2024

3. Zachary Gotlib, TEAMS math teacher, ECMS, effective May 24, 2024

4. Charlotte McCormick, teacher, ECMS, effective May 24, 2024

5. Arlene Hoomes, 7-hour lunchroom worker, FHS, effective April 10, 2024

6. Sonya Higdon, custodian, PMJHS, effective April 5, 2024

7. Anne Catherine Campbell, math teacher, WSNMS, effective May 29, 2024

8. Jack Floyd, technology technician, ECS Technology Department, effective March 29, 2024


1. Kara Sawyer, secretary / bookkeeper, PMJHS, effective April 19, 2024, replacing Joyce Gunn

2. Melissa Ewing, custodian, PMJHS, effective April 19, 2024, replacing Sonya Higdon

3. Jason Tolbert, utility / groundskeeper, Atmore Maintenance Department, effective May 1, 2024, replacing Justin Dubose

4. Robert Spicer, bus driver, BBS, effective April 19, 2024, replacing Stacey Fuqua

After school employment

1. Leah White, after school program, teacher, ECMS, effective 2/6/2024

2. Jude Sanford, after school program, teacher, ECMS, 2/6/2024

Summer employment

1. James Willliams, ARRP Summer School, custodian, ECMS, effective June 18, 2024

2. Erin Howard, Camp Big Blue, teacher, WSNMS, effective May 28, 2024

3. Jennifer Blaney, Camp Big Blue, teacher, WSNMS, effective May 28, 2024

4. Bailey Johnson, Camp Big Blue, teacher, WSNMS, effective May 28, 2024

5. Tammy Bonds, Camp Big Blue, teacher, WSNMS, effective May 28, 2024

Leave of Absence – FMLA

1. Linda West, teacher, ECHS, from November 27, 2023 through March 8, 2024



1. Arlene Hoomes, 7-hour lunchroom worker, from PMJHS, 7-hour lunchroom worker, to FHS, effective April 1, 2024