Honoring first responders

Some of the first responders honored, from left, ESCO Deputy Wallace Carter, Bay Minette Police Cpl. Arthur Odom, ESCO Sergeant Matt Rabren, ESCO Sheriff Heath Jackson, ESCO Major Billy Blair.

News Publisher

Huxford Elementary School administration, faculty, staff and students welcomed the area’s law enforcement officers and emergency personnel to a luncheon in their honor Thursday, September 8. The event was “In Honor of Those Who Always Get There First.”
HES principal Leah Fuqua thanked everyone for coming.
“Thank you from our school to you,” she said. “Thank you for your service and commitment. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.”
HES staff member Deborah Peterson did the invocation.
“Lord, keep them from all harm and danger,” she prayed.
Among the agencies represented were Escambia County Sheriff’s Office (ECSO), Bay Minette Police Department, McCall Volunteer Fire Department (VFD), Huxford VFD, Little Rock VFD, Barnett Crossroads VFD, and Poarch Creek Fire Department.
Escambia County Board of Education members attending were Cindy Jackson (who is also a firefighter with the McCall VFD), Mike Edwards, Sherry Digmon, and Superintendent Michele McClung.