13 qualify for city offices

News Staff Writer

A “baker’s dozen” candidates, including five of six incumbents, qualified to run for election or re-election to the city’s governing body during the first week of the two-week qualifying period.
City Clerk Becca Smith reported Monday afternoon that Mayor Jim Staff and all but one of the five council members had filed papers and paid qualifying fees to seek another term.
The only exception is District 4’s Susan Smith, who is vacating her council post in order to challenge Staff for the mayor’s office. The city clerk also reported that seven other individuals had qualified to challenge incumbents or to fill the impending District 4 void.
District 1’s Webb Nall was the only councilman not to have drawn opposition by the end of Monday.
Qualifying ends next Tuesday, July 21, at 5 p.m. A $50 qualifying fee is required of anyone who wishes to run for any of the elected city positions.
According to City Clerk Becca Smith, who also serves as the city’s election manager, the following individuals had qualified by 5 p.m. Monday:
Mayor: Jim Staff (I), Susan Smith, Ernie Digmon.
District 1: Webb Nall (I)
District 2: Jerome Webster (I), Angelia Norman.
District 3: Chris Walker (I), Eunice Johnson.
District 4: Larry Houck, Shawn Lassiter.
District 5: Chris Harrison (I), Bub Gideons, Sandra Gray.
The election is set for Tuesday, August 25.