Headlines News

Meckel, Carter keep council seats

Hollinger, Bryan in August run-off

After the results were announced, from left, Dewitt Carter, Amy Bryan, Sandy Hollinger, Charlotte Meckel/News photo by Gayle Johnson / PCI

News Publisher

Two incumbents won their seats outright and another faces a run-off following the Poarch Creek Indians Tribal Council election Saturday, June 1.
Incumbent Charlotte McGhee Meckel won a tight race for her seat as treasurer with 703 votes over challenger Candace Fayard.
Incumbent Dewitt C. Carter held his at-large seat with 494 votes over six challengers: Breiah C. Adams, 57 votes; Charles “Bo” Bray, 110 votes; Chance Walker Jackson, 28 votes; Kevin McGhee, 147 votes; John O’Barr, 243 votes; Megan Young, 319 votes.
Incumbent Sandy Fretwell Hollinger (507 votes) will be in a run-off August 3 for the treasurer’s seat against challenger Amy Bryan (575 votes). Challenger Eddie Leon Tullis received 317 votes
A total of 1,405 General Council member votes were cast. There were 282 absentee ballots, 710 walk-in ballots, and 314 votes in person on election day.
Members of the PCI Election Board are Carolyn Rackard, Gilbert McGhee, Eialeasha Martin (alternate), Brenda Faircloth, and Carolyn Peterson.