Gamma Omega celebrates anniversary

Shown participating in the induction are, from left, Heather Caraway, Membership Committee; Trachy Miller; inductee Jessica White; and Evelyn Bilbo.

The Gamma Omega Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma held their annual meeting and celebrated the local chapter’s 37th anniversary Thursday, April 6. New member Jessica White was inducted at this time.

Charter members (May 3, 1980) were Sandra Bennett, Janet Brantley, Eunice Broughton, Lucy Cunningham, Mary Currie, Conway Dickinson, Dorothy Faircloth, Dean Graham, Mary Grissett, Joan Hayden, Helen Kearley, Jean Lufkin, Shirley Madison, Nellie McKay, Florence Peavy, Kate Pipkin, Anita Rollins, Orene Schmitz, Jo Strickland, Mary Ann Sutton, Elizabeth Van Pelt and Annie Ruth Whitten.

Past presidents are Nancy Karrick (who is the current state president) 2012-2016; Evelyn Bilbo, 2010-2012; Priscilla Wilder, 2006-2010; Evelyn Bilbo, 2004-2006; Renee Wilkins, 2002-2004; Joanne Bonds, 2000-2002; Mary Bess Powell, 1998-2000; Sissy Phillips, 1996-1998; Lucy Cunningham, 1994-1996; Shirley Madison, 1990-1994; Julia Gibbs, 1988-1990; Kay Rose, 1986-1988; Dean Graham, 1984-1986; Mary Grissett, 1982-1984; Dorothy Faircloth, 1980-1982.

Current officers are Trachy Miller, President; Sissy Phillips, First Vice President; Evelyn Bilbo, Second Vice President; Connie Hetrick, Recording / Corresponding Secretary; Leigh Ann Rowland, Treasurer; Nancy Karrick, Immediate Past President; Joanne Bonds, Parliamentary Advisor.