CACC hosts Tedder math tourney

The Coastal Alabama Community College Michael Tedder Mathematics Tournament was held on Thursday, January 26, on the Brewton campus.

Nine high schools and a total of 192 students participated in the day-long event. Teams competed for trophies and awards on a 35-question exam and 16 “quick answer” cipher questions.

Michael Tedder, retired mathematics and physics instructor for the college and the founder of the tournament over 30 years ago, was on hand to award the top 10 performing students medals and team trophies. Mary Beth Lancaster, Dean of Instruction, presented academic scholarships to the top 10 performing students to attend Coastal Alabama Community College.

T.R. Miller High School of Brewton captured the first place trophy. Other schools receiving trophies were Flomaton High School, second place; Jay High School, third place; and W.S. Neal High School fourth place. Also participating were Northview High School, Atmore Christian School, Hillcrest High School, Escambia County High School, and Escambia Academy.

Individual awards went to the following students:

Christopher Guthrie, T. R. Miller – Top Winner and The Michael Tedder Distinguished Math Student Award Winner; Dustin Reaves, Flomaton High School;

Tanner McDaniel, T.R. Miller; Caleb Winton, T.R. Miller; Maggie Rowell, T.R. Miller; Alyssa Borelli, Northview; Russell Smith, T.R. Miller; Alexis Doll, T.R. Miller; Todd Watson, T.R. Miller; Shellie Harrelson, Flomaton.

Team sponsors were
Hillcrest High School – Joseph Reaves
T. R. Miller High School – Catherine Watson
W. S. Neal High School – Jason Blaney and Daniel Hodge
Flomaton High School – Phillip Curt Bell
Escambia Academy – Carolina Smoak
Escambia County High School – Timothy Salter
Northview High School – Elbert Shugart and Obreonne Smith
Atmore Christian School – Jerry Stahly
Jay High School –Amy Hatfield

Jeannette Lymon, Allen Gainer and Loletta Jackson directed the tournament with assistance from the faculty, staff, Honors students, SGA representatives, and Phi Theta Kappa volunteers.