Sherry Digmon

Vacation Bible School at First United Methodist Church has a serious side. While Bible stories, games, singing, and crafts are part of the fun, VBS kids are also raising money for Pilots for Christ. Monday evening, Rosalyn Sales, above, with PFC talked about the work they do in transporting patients long distances for medical treatment. It’s boys versus girls in the fund-raising competition for PFC, but Sales also asked for…
Screen in the Strand
United Bank’s Screen on the Green was moved indoors Friday evening, June 2, for the showing of Moana. Originally planned for Heritage Park, the venue was changed to the Strand Theater due to the threat of inclement weather. UB personnel had plenty of popcorn and soft drinks on hand for the 120 or so who attended. Atmore Area YMCA board members and volunteers grilled and wrapped sausage, hot dogs and…
Yard of the Month
The Pride of Atmore Committee selected Bob and Meg Jones’ yard on Kimberly Drive as the June Yard of the Month. Lilies and hydrangeas abound thanks to Meg’s green thumb. Shown at left are committee members, from left, Tom Tschida, Bub Gideons, Sandy Helton (back), and Myrna Monroe. At right is Reese Jones, standing in for her grandparents.
Business of the Month
The Atmore Area Chamber of Commerce honored Escambia Drug Store as the June Business of the Month. The presentation was made Monday, June 5. Shown are,from left, front, James Walker, Robbie Drummond, Kim Tatum, Chris Singleton, Jamie Barlow Giddins, Hannah Kent; back, Brandy Giger, Myrna Monroe, Scott Benton, Sheryl Vickery, Sandy Helton, Mallorie Beachy, Jordan Barnett.
Incumbents win PCI election
Three incumbents were successful in their bid for re-election on the Poarch Creek Tribal Council. Tribal Chairman Stephanie Bryan and At Large members Arthur Mothershed and Garvis Sells won handily without run-offs in the election held Saturday, June 3. Bryan received 825 votes to challenger Anthony Peebles’ 43 votes and Eddie Tullis’ 594 votes. For the two At Large seats, Mothershed and Sells faced 12 challengers. The votes were as…