12 inducted into Hall of Fame

News Publisher

The 2023 Atmore Area Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held Saturday evening, May 6, at The Club – and attendance probably set a record for these ceremonies, due in part to 12 inductees, also a record for number inducted in one year.
Inductees are as follows:
Athletics – the late Mickey Cannon, Bill Vickery, the late Rufus Sam Jack Cassity
Government – Lori Stinson, the late John Watkins, the late Judge Douglas Webb
Military – Dean Bushnell, the late Stan Childress, the late Rayford Gohagin
Education – Sara Davis, W. J. Grissett
Business – the late James Barnett
The Rev. Kevin Garrett, First Baptist Church, Atmore, opened with prayer. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Retired Marine Corps Major Lee J. Stuckey, founder and president for AHERO, a veteran and first responder suicide prevention nonprofit (AHEROUSA.Org).
Committee members are Committee members are Chairman Billy Conn Madison, Charlotte Boyle, Larry Forney, Ann Gordon, Anthony Marshall, Dr. Ullysses McBride, Mal McGhee, Sherry Digmon.