Distinguished Young Women

Scholarship, Leadership, Talent

This year’s 14 contestants with the 2022 DYW, from left, Abigail Turner, Alonna Bedsole, Kadence Freeman, Morgan Jones, Makenna Anderson, Chloe Higdon, Harley Wilson, 2022 DYW Sydney Aaron, 2023 DYW Elora Waters, Jaila Goodwin, Courtney Cannon, Ashley Boutwell, Laiken Stone, Tiffany Gookin, Elizabeth Young
And the winners are, from left, 2023 DYW Elora Waters, First Alternate Laiken Stone, Second Alternate Chloe Higdon, Third Alternate Tiffany Gookin
Tiffany Gookin, at right, with Little Sister KayLeigh Jay

News Publisher

The three tenets of the Distinguished Young Women program were evident Saturday evening, July 30, as 14 young ladies took to the stage to vie for the title – and thousands of dollars in scholarships.
Judges had a daunting task to rate the contestants on interview, talent, fitness, and self-expression. Scholastics is also part of the score.
Elora Mirielle Waters, T.R. Miller High School, was named the 2023 Distinguished Young Woman of Escambia County.
Other winners are as follows:
First Alternate – Laiken Skylar Stone, W.S. Neal High School
Second Alternate – Chloe Danielle Higdon, T.R. Miller
Third Alternate – Tiffany Gookin, Escambia Academy
Be Your Best Self Essay – Elora Waters
Spirit Award (voted on by contestants) – Jaila Goodwin, W.S. Neal High School
Fitness (three awards) – Laiken Stone, Tiffany Gookin, Alonna Grace Bedsole, W.S. Neal High School
Self-Expression (three awards) – Elora Waters, Tiffany Gookin, Harley Rose Wilson, W.S. Neal High School
Talent (three awards) – Chloe Higdon, Tiffany Gookin, Elora Waters
Interview (three awards) – Elora Waters; Courtney Madelyn Cannon, W.S. Neal High School; Harley Wilson
Scholastics (three awards) – Elora Waters, Laiken Stone, Chloe Higdon