Headlines News

14 now qualified for city election

News Staff Writer

As the qualifying period drew to a close Tuesday, 14 individuals had officially launched campaigns for the six posts up for grabs in the August 25 municipal election in Atmore.
The qualifying period ended at 5 p.m. Tuesday afternoon (July 21). Qualifying by any candidate who entered one of the six races after Tuesday’s press deadline will be announced on the Atmore News Facebook page and website, with a complete recap in next week’s newspaper.
Logan Walston, who had announced earlier that he would seek the District 4 seat being vacated by Susan Smith, filed qualifying papers and officially entered what has become a four-person race.
Brandy Giger has thrown her hat into the ring for the District 4 seat, joining Walston, Larry Houck and Shawn Lassiter as candidates for the council post.
Smith, who is seeking the mayor’s office, will vacate her council seat at the end of the current term, due to her mayoral campaign.
Through midday Tuesday, the other races shaped up as follows:
Mayor: Jim Staff (I); Susan Smith.
District 1: Webb Nall (I).
District 2: Jerome Webster (I); Angelia Norman.
District 3: Chris Walker (I); Eunice Johnson.
District 5: Chris Harrison (I); Bub Gideons; Sandra Gray.
City Clerk Becca Smith reminded registered voters that absentee ballot applications must be requested no later than 5 p.m. Thursday, August 20. The absentee ballots must be returned by the voter himself or herself (with a picture ID) no later than noon on election day, Tuesday, August 25.
Becca Smith also reported that 5 p.m. Monday, August 10, is the deadline to register to vote in the city election. Those wishing to register must do so at the registrars office, Escambia County Satellite Courthouse on Highway 31, Atmore.