Community Headlines News

Chamber honors achievement

Award recipients, from left, Jim and Julie Johnson, Sara Smith, Myrna Monroe, David Strawbridge, and AJ Beachy.

News Staff Writer

A capacity crowd attended the 74th Annual Chamber Gala (annual meeting and banquet) Friday, January 24, at Wind Creek.
The evening provided an opportunity to honor individual and business achievements with five awards presented during the evening.
A new category this year was New Business of the Year. Dale Ash presented the award to David Strawbridge, The Publican.
In an emotional speech, Brandy Fehr presented the Business of the Year Award to Sara Smith, Hawt Mess. Fehr talked about her battle with cancer and how Sara had stepped in to help her and save her business.
Dave Dennis presented the Lifetime Business Award to his longtime friends Jim and Julie Johnson, Johnson Ford.
Introducing the Citizen of the Year recipient, Brandy Giger said, “For all of his contributions to the citizens of Atmore, he never brags or wants any recognition. His self-satisfaction comes from helping others. He has spent many countless hours serving the Chamber of Commerce with Mayfest, Williams Station Day, and other various community events.” AJ Beachy is the 2020 Citizen of the Year.
Bub Gideons presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Myrna Monroe. He mentioned the various committees and boards she serves on, the fundraisers she has cooked for and her business.
At age 70 she started a new business, Atmore News, having already helped start “atmore” magazine.
“Its success is due largely to her commitment,” Bub said. “Now 85, she’s at work every single day and participates in community and church projects. Ladies and gentlemen, please congratulate an Atmore institution; Atmore’s Hostess with the Mostess, our Matriarch of Main Street and the ultimate Lifetime Achievement Award winner …. Come tell us What’s for Supper? ……. Myrna Monroe.”
Jordan Barnett gave her outgoing president’s speech, and Emilee Waters gave the incoming president’s speech.