Community News

Gamma Omega celebrates Founders’ Day

Dean Graham, one of the founding members
Joanne Bonds recognized for 30th year of membership

Special to Atmore News

The last meeting of the 2018-2019 school year of Gamma Omega Chapter of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International was held Thursday night, April 11, at First Presbyterian Church. Following a buffet supper, members had cake and wished the chapter a happy 39th birthday.
Chapter President Nancy Karrick began the Founders’ Day program by giving a history of the chapter which was actually formed in 1934 in Atmore as Delta Chapter and was composed of teachers from Monroe and Escambia counties. In 1935, the chapter divided and the Escambia women were in the newly-formed Omega Chapter in Brewton. In May of 1980, Omega was large enough to divide so the Atmore group began the newly formed Gamma Omega Chapter.
Members were treated to a reading of the minutes of that first meeting on May 3, 1980 by Karrick as well as looking at the first pages of the chapter scrapbook.
Founders Janet Brantley, Mary Currie, Mary Grissett, Kate Pipkin, Jo Strickland, Annie Ruth Whitten, and Dean Graham were highlighted by current members Evelyn Bilbo, Sissy Phillips, Connie Hetrick, Sherry Digmon, Nancy Karrick, and Dean Graham. Dean Graham graciously shared her memories of that first meeting and compared meetings then with those of today.
A 30-year membership pin and certificate were presented to Joanne Bonds. Other membership awards which will be delivered are a 25-year pin to Pat Bonner, and 15-year certificates to Trachy Miller and Nancy Karrick.
Members present were Jessica White, Dean Graham, Evelyn Bilbo, Nancy Karrick, Connie Hetrick, Mary Beth Lancaster, Wendy Stafford, Leigh Ann Rowland, Leslie Sellers, Sissy Phillips, Sherry Digmon, and Joanne Bonds.
Sissy Phillips, Evelyn Bilbo, and Jessica White served as hostesses for the evening.