Headlines News

City nominates 10 for HPC committee

News Staff Writer

Atmore City Council members moved a step closer on Monday (April 8) to formation of a historic preservation district within the city.
During a workshop that preceded the council’s regular meeting, members nominated 10 individuals who will be asked to serve on the Historic Preservation Commission committee, the group that will oversee establishment of and adherence to policies, procedures, by-laws and other aspects of the new geographic district.
The nominees are Shawn Rounsavall (business owner); Gregg Akins (business owner); Foster Kizer (business owner); Richard Maxwell (construction / architecture); Karean Reynolds (attorney); Carolyn White (PCI legal office); Nancy Karrick (historian); Herb Hackman (president, Atmore Historical Society); Debbie Rowell (Realtor), and Gloria Marshall (city employee).
Rounsavall has reportedly been contacted about the possible appointment and has accepted the appointment. City officials are in the process of contacting the others.
“These people were nominated, and we have begun calling or contacting them to see if they are willing to serve,” City Clerk Becca Smith explained. “The mayor and council will appoint the committee after we get enough people to serve.”
One of the committee’s first tasks will be to define the area of the historic district. Preliminary discussions have focused on downtown, and the Main Street area, from Ridgeley Street to Church Street (possibly including a block on either side).