Rosa Parks honored

From left, Dr. Ullysses McBride, Mayor Tony Haygood, Rev. Willie Hawthorne

The Greater Mount Triumph Missionary Baptist Church Fellowship Hall was filled to capacity Saturday, February 10, for the 12th annual Rosa Parks Prayer Breakfast.

Community leaders, elected officials, candidates, and residents gathered to celebrate the woman who is known as the Mother of the Civil Rights Movement.
Bea Forniss served as an admirable Master of Ceremonies. Participating in the program were the Rev. Willie Hawthorne, Greater Mt. Triumph, special music and invocation; Chakema Jackson, Welcome; James C. Fields, Occasion; the Rev. Darryl North, Empowerment Tabernacle, Blessing of the Food; David Quarker, introduction of elected officials; Dr. Ullysses McBride, introduction of speaker; Mayor Jim Staff, city updates and presentation of the Key to the City to the speaker. Mayor Staff also recognized former Mayor Howard and Nannette Shell who came for the event.

The keynote speaker was Tuskegee Mayor Lawrence “Tony” Haygood Jr.

“Rosa Parks was an inspiration,” he said. “She sat down so others could stand … so all could stand …

“Stop waiting on someone else to free you. Free yourself. Speak out like Rosa Parks.”

The Rosa Parks Prayer Breakfast is known for awards of recognition and appreciation to outstanding citizens.

Alabama Representative Alan Baker presented a Commendation from the House of Representatives and a Certificate of Appreciation from Gov. Kay Ivey to Dr. Zickeyous Byrd for his work in education. Dr. Byrd worked in local schools, on the state level, and currently serves as Conecuh County Superintendent of Education.

Escambia County Commissioner David Quarker presented a Resolution of Appreciation from the Escambia County Commission to W.J. Grissett, chairman of the Escambia County Board of Education, for his 63 years of service to schools.

On behalf the Family Life Center, Dr. Ullysses McBride presented Louie Turner with the Outstanding Citizen Award, recognizing him for his quality of work and determination.

On behalf of the Family Life Center, Dr. McBride presented the Rosa Parks Award to Karean Reynolds for his determination to exceed and for being someone, like Rosa Parks, who makes a difference.

The annual event wouldn’t be the same without The Breakfast Club – the group of folks who prepare and serve breakfast to the dozens of people attending. This year’s members of the club were Vonda Bynum, Doris Knight, Shelia Johnson-Williams, Beverly Rodgers, Ewric Williams, Toshia McCants and Janice Reynolds.


Dr. Zickeyous Byrd, Rep. Alan Baker
W.J. Grissett, David Quarker
Louie Turner, Dr. McBride
Karean Reynolds, Dr. McBride
Nannette and Howard Shell