Parole board turns down Brewton men


News Staff Writer

Three Brewton men, each convicted in Escambia County (Ala.) Circuit Court, were denied parole during recent hearings by the Alabama Board of Pardons and Paroles.
Dayvon Ladarious Samuel, who is currently housed at Ventress Correctional Facility, was convicted in 2020 of first-degree escape from an undisclosed facility. He was sentenced to 15 years and has served barely two but has built up 1,273 days (3.5 years) of “good time.”
His minimum release date without a pardon or parole is May 13, 2024.
Terry Darnell Jones, who has a lengthy criminal history, was arrested by Brewton police on third-degree burglary charges in 2019. He was eventually convicted and ordered to serve 20 years behind bars.
The Fountain Correctional Facility inmate, who also served five years for burglary and drug possession in 2009, had served three years and three months on the date of his hearing. His minimum release date without pardon or parole is March 23, 2034.
The third inmate, Jermaine Montgomery, has served less than a year of a 180-month sentence he was handed after his conviction on possession and receiving a controlled substance. Montgomery, housed at Kilby Correctional Facility, is also no stranger to state prison. He served two years for a 2015 conviction on drug possession and distribution charges.
He was also sentenced in 2009 to 15 years in prison — for drug distribution and criminal mischief — and was released 4 years and 9 months later after accumulation of 10 years, 2 months and 23 days of “good time.”
Montgomery’s minimum release date without pardon or parole is November 7, 2024.