Escambia County School System honors
the best at Red Carpet Event

Special to Atmore News

Escambia County school personnel walked an actual red carpet Tuesday, May 10, to receive awards for their service to the school system in an event that was the first of its kind.
School Superintendent Michele McClung, herself a former teacher, knew the importance of showing appreciation for those who work tirelessly to educate and care for children. So her staff, led by Elementary Curriculum and Instruction Supervisor Nicole Spottswood, pulled out all the stops to create a special evening complete with dinner and a red carpet.
McClung wanted to spotlight those who go the extra mile and often don’t have their efforts recognized. “We put the red carpet event on to show our gratitude and sincerest appreciation for those students, employees, and community members who consistently show excellence in all they do. Taking the time to honor others by personalizing why they stand out is a great way to build a positive culture in the school system. I hope our employees feel the love we have for them and they truly know how important they are to the success of our students, school system and community!”
Along with awards for best teacher and student at each of the system’s schools, administrators and support staff were honored as well. Plaques and medallions were handed out for the best school bus driver, best secretary, best custodian, and the top performers in every department. Even those who are not employees were thanked, as Escambia County Sheriff Heath Jackson was named Community Leader of the Year and the Poarch Band of Creek Indians received an award as Organization of the Year. A total of 46 awards were handed out.
School Board President Coleman Wallace, who has been on the board for 10 years, was greatly impressed. “This history-making moment is because of our leader, Superintendent Michele McClung. Great leaders have grand visions. Even where there are divisions, they do not abandon their mission. Great leaders are able to make a great impact because they value the people they serve.”
McClung said the red carpet awards dinner will be an annual event.
Awards presented were as follows:
Administrators of the Year
Secondary – George “Bubba” Brown, principal, Flomaton High School
Elementary – Leah Fuqua, principal, Huxford Elementary School
Teachers of the Year
Escambia County High School – Anna Wheeler
W.S. Neal High School – Daniel Hodge
Flomaton High School – Jerry Aaron
Career Readiness Center – Amber Wilson
W.S. Neal Middle School – Emily Daly
Pollard McCall Junior High School – Amy Bell
Escambia County Middle School – Secondary Teacher of the Year, Tyler Parker
Escambia County Middle School – Elementary Teacher of the Year, Tiffany Hobbs
Flomaton Elementary School – Leslie Wedgeworth
Rachel Patterson Elementary School – Allison Brooks
Huxford Elementary School – Cheyenne Ikner
W.S. Neal Elementary School – Jennifer Silcox
2021-2022 Retirees
Julie Madden, Chief School Finance Officer
Marilyn Simmons, Business Office
Amy Cabaniss, Principal of Escambia County High School
Students of the Year
Escambia Couny High School – Willie James Walker
W.S. Neal High School – Sydney Aaron
Flomaton High School – Jalia Lassiter
Career Readiness Center – Garrett Weaver
W.S. Neal Middle School – Eli Stone
Pollard McCall Junior High School – Bradley Campbell
Escambia County Middle School – Zaniyah Johnson
Flomaton Elementary School – Holly Fore
Rachel Patterson Elementary School – Jehle Poindexter
Huxford Elementary School – Brea Rolin
W.S. Neal Elementary School – Rilee Benton
Employees of the Year
Nurse of the Year – Stephanie Alaniz
CNP Employee of the Year – Laura Bailey
Bus Driver of the Year – Kimberly Nall
Extra Mile Award – Amie Kramer
Business Office Employee of the Year – Marilyn Simmons
Custodian of the Year – James Williams Jr.
Instructional Aide of the Year – Doris Johnson
Substitute of the Year – Lacinda Mitchell
Mechanic of the Year – Frank Moye
Maintenance Employee of the Year – Terry Boutwell
Social Worker of the Year – Jennifer Blount
Bookkeeper of the Year – Michelle Parish
Secretary of the Year – Sandra Wallace
Office Aide of the Year – Emily Harrison
Technology Technician of the Year – Travis Kelley
Partner of the Year – Scottie Stewart
Volunteer of the Year – Pastor North
Community Leader of the Year – Sheriff Heath Jackson
Organization of the Year – Poarch Band of Creek Indians
Business of the Year – Camp 31
Superintendent Choice Award – Betty Warren