EREC awards college scholarships


Special to Atmore News

Escambia River Electric Cooperative announced the winners of the 2020 Herman D. Johnson Scholarship Awards: Keaton Brown of Escambia County and Kendall Barrow of Santa Rosa County.
Keaton is the son of Chris and Sandy Brown. Keaton plans to major in aerospace engineering and was nominated by Congressman Matt Gaetz to the U.S. Naval Academy and the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Keaton is currently ranked number one in his class. He is an active member of the NJROTC serving many positions including orienting team captain, color guard commander, drill team commander and administration officer. Keaton is team captain for the cross-country track team and vice president of the Math Club. He is also a member of the Beta Club and School Advisory Council and has volunteered with the local fire department and Ruritan Club. Keaton served as an EREC delegate for the Tallahassee and the Washington, D.C. Youth Tours.
Kendall is the daughter of Frederick and Jeanna Barrow. She is planning to attend the University of West Florida and major in elementary education. Kendall is an honor student at Jay High School and a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Pensacola State College. She plays basketball for JHS and is a member of the Student Government Association, Beta Club and National Honor Society. Kendall is a K-4 assistant at Faith Christian Academy. She also volunteers at the Jay Pro Rodeo, My Father’s Arrows and Kings Harvest.
Keaton and Kendall will receive $1,000 each for four years providing they continue to meet the scholarship criteria.