Atmore News

St. Robert celebrates Sacrament of Confirmation
Archbishop Thomas Rodi visited St. Robert Bellarmine Church for the Sacrament of Confirmation last Saturday, April 1. Confirmed were Isaak Armstrong, Paolo Gorme and Micheal Markush, with Fr. Gordon Milsted and Fr. Arulappan Jayaraj, HGN, Concelebrant. Shown are, from left, Isaak Armstrong, Paolo Gorme, Fr. Gordon Milsted, Archbishop Thomas Rodi, Fr. Arulappan Jayaraj HGN, Micheal Markush. News photo by Ditto Gorme
Beware continuing Social Security scam
Gale Stallworth Stone, the Acting Inspector General of Social Security, is urging citizens to remain vigilant of a nationwide telephone impersonation scheme. Since alerting the public in early March about suspicious calls from people posing as Office of the Inspector General (OIG) investigators, the Social Security Administration (SSA) and the OIG have received additional reports and information about the phone scheme from citizens across the country. According to reports, the…
GECA presents Passion Play
The Greater Escambia Council for the Arts is bringing the story of Easter to the stage April 6-9, in “He Was Raised,” an original work by Phil Johnson. Tickets, $10 each, $7 for members, are available at Atmore News, 128 S. Main. Show dates are Thursday through Saturday, April 6-8, 7 p.m., and Sunday, April 9, at 2 p.m. See you at the foot of the Cross.
ACM, RP, ECMS meeting set
A meeting will be held Thursday, April 6, 5 p.m., at A.C. Moore Elementary School to discuss the proposed consolidation of A.C. Moore, Rachel Patterson Elementary and Escambia County Middle schools. Under the proposed plan, third-graders at A.C. Moore will go to Rachel Patterson, and fourth-graders will go to Escambia County Middle. Also, the two pre-k classes at ACM will go to RP. A.C. Moore will be closed. Superintendent John…
Etheridge named to Hall of Fame
Five area residents will be inducted into the Atmore Area Hall of Fame later this month. Billy Conn Madison, chairman of the Hall of Fame Committee, released the names of this year’s inductees: William America, Earl Etheridge, Dr. William T. Hall, Howard Shell, and Eddie Staff. The induction ceremony will be held Saturday, April 29, 6 p.m., at The Club. Tickets for the ceremony and the meal are $25 each.…